Rain- It’s Never Enough

I had done the run a ton of times, but never in the rain on the wonderfully wide, heavy, noseless and soaked skateboard.

When I looked outside it was raining.  The first thought that popped int0 my head was that I was watching over my parents house which had two important components.  Firstly, the property is also a storage facility which has a big rectangular design that goes up and down with transitions and banks.  Secondly, my fathers old 1980’s Tony Hawk board (that he rode when I was in my mother’s womb) was downstairs.

I took one smooth run bombing through the puddles and carving the slippery hills as the drops of rain met with my body and board. The run was perfect, ending with a hill bomb and an ollie over the “big crack”.  I had done the run a ton of times, but never in the rain on the wonderfully wide, heavy, noseless and soaked skateboard.  But as I walked back to the door, I thought of something else – a nice layback on the big bank to complement the oldschool board.  I tried, fell on my ass, and then laughed.  Then I got up again and did it.

Everything goes perfectly awesome, then the thought of “just one more” comes up

That is a skater for you.  Everything goes perfectly awesome, then the thought of “just one more” comes up and suddenly the skater is on his ass.  The true part of the skater though is that they get up and land it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Articles

Leave a comment